New York City – November

New York was naturally amazing! It was FREAKING COLD though as we were lucky enough to experience the coldest week on record, for that week in November. It didn’t snow but it may as well have because it was so damn cold. Next time I go to New York Im going to make sure it is when it is warm because there is no way I can deal with that shit again. There is so much to do in NYC and a week certainly isn’t long enough to be in that incredible city. Next time I would make sure I wake up early and just get shit done. New York… I’ll be back.

IMG_3061

Accommodation:

Airbnb in Hells Kitchen

Airbnb was a great experience and it was cool to live the new york life for a week. Hells kitchen was a great area to stay in, not too far from anything however NYC is so cold sometimes that walking places seriously sucks.

Things to do:

Walk/bike central park: It was long and it was freezing but it was beautiful. We went in autumn and the orange leaves were amazing. It is also so cool to be walking through central park….

230 on Fifth: this rooftop bar is so cool and unlike top of the rock or whatever else you do to see the city, you look right at the Empire state building. There are great photo ops here of all over the city and inside is really cool and the cocktails are delish.

Broadway: go to Broadway, see something anything. It doesn’t matter if you love musicals, you are in NYC for gods sake, go and see something on Broadway just because! It was on my bucket list to see Chicago on Broadway and it was even better than I could have imagined

Madison Square Garden: Even though the Knicks suck, go see the Basketball. MSG is the best and the comfiest of all of the stadiums that I went to. The atmosphere is great and the supporters are hilarious.

IMG_2925.JPG

Times Square: You will obviously go here so there isn’t much to say other than the shopping is fantastic and its really cool and bright.

9/11 Memorial: this place will leave you speechless. No matter what your beliefs are about 9/11, you will still be taken back by the tragedy. There is one room that has all of the faces of the people who lost their lives and prepare yourself because this isn’t easy. I dont want to show any photos because I think it’s important you see it for yourself.

IMG_3088

Statue of liberty 

We didn’t go on the island but seeing the statue of liberty was probably the most surreal part of my trip. I was looking at the statue of liberty… I just couldn’t believe it! We paid to take a Ferry tour to see the bridge and the statue etc. but apparently you pay $3 for the ferry to Brooklyn and you see all the same stuff, so do that! If you want to walk in the crown of the statue you need to book like 2 months in advance.

Wythe Hotel: this cool bar in Brooklyn (Williamsburg) has the most amazing view of NYC and was one of my favourite spots in the city. Some great photo ops here and its also a really funky bar.

30 Rock: the Rockefeller centre was cool but more so for me because I love 30 rock. One of my favourite photos was taken here. Inside it’s cool because you can buy all the CBS or whatever network it is, merchandise. I got a central perk apron!

Grand Central Station: is absolutely beautiful, you have to go here. You see it in movies but it is even more beautiful inside than you could imagine.

National Museum of the American Indian: if you love history you will love this. It is such a rich history and something that we don’t really learn a lot about in Australia.

M&M world: for the love of god, go here! I mean its m&m world! Why wouldn’t you?!?!

Harlem: I absolutely loved Harlem! It is somewhere that people generally don’t go but it’s a big difference from the city and there are some cool places to eat here. We went through on our way up to Rucker park, which I would also suggest that you visit.


Leave a comment