New Orleans

If only I had more time in this incredible city! We were there on Halloween and Halloween eve was LITERALLY the drunkest I have ever been in my life. Halloween we dressed up and went to Voodoo festival so if you’re going there for Halloween that was heaps of fun. New Orleans is as beautiful and cultures as it is crazy and fun, I will be back here for sure!!!

3NOLA (43)

Accommodation: Auberge NOLA hostel.

YOU MUST STAY HERE. I have told friends before and you can only understand how amazing it is when you stay there. The staff are so lovely and you feel at home rather than in a hostel. Everyone is so much fun and the staff will book anything you want and help you out in anyway they can. Plus their little dog is so adorable.

Things to do:

Pat O’Briens: I don’t even have any words for ‘Patty O’s’ this is where the trouble began. They are famous for their hurricanes and I can see why. It is $8 for a massive cocktail with 3 different kinds of rum, it will get you FUUURRKKKEDDD URRRPP seriously. There are heaps of cocktails to try and they are so cheap. I got so drunk that I tipped a hot waitress $20 because she was hot, granted she was hot so yeah…

3NOLA (3)

Bourbon Street: Surely reason #1 everyone goes to NOLA. This street is just THAT much fun. During the day you can explore the really cool parts of the city and make sure you head into a voodoo shop because they are really cool and you can buy heaps of stuff that everyone will be so jealous of when you get home (the one I went to was opposite Pat O’Briens so that was helpful to find it whilst sober (which isn’t ever for long in this place). Bourbon street will also lead you up to the big quadrant area which has heaps of entertainment. I just cant even describe how amazing this magical place is. At night is when all the trouble starts, after Patty O’s you somehow make your way through Bourbon Street, it is honestly like a completely different place at night. There are so many cool places open and especially on Halloween eve as it is considered an event and everyone watches the parade and then gets blind. There isn’t much more I can say about this part of it because I honestly remember next to nothing. All I can suggest is that you don’t accidentally touch a random girls ‘weave’ in a cab that you are somehow sharing with them because she will try to fight you haha.

3NOLA (2)

Blind Pelican: if you stay at the Auberge then this is an easy place for pre Pat O’brien drinks. They have the famous (everything is world famous in America) Jell-O-shots. They are made with Everclear which is more potent than absinthe. I was drunk of 3 seriously. They also do amazing southern food which is great for dinner and for the hangover after a festival before you get on a plane 😉

Cemetary/city tours: I enjoyed learning about the history of New Orleans but warning: if you are hung over this can be difficult. There is a lot of walking and I’m guessing the experience all depends on the tour guide. They take you to the Lafayette cemetery 1 which is really cool.

Mothers: the most famous restaurant in NOLA. You walk in and honesty you will be like dafuq is dis shit but when you eat the food you will see why its famous. Its old fashion ‘what your mama would cook’ New Orleans southern food. Would definitely check it out.

3 New Orleans (4)


Leave a comment