Machu Picchu

A wonder of the world. I’m so glad I saw Machu Picchu because it is just as glorious as you see in the pictures. However my favourite part was definitely seeing/playing with the llamas on top of the hill. A must do when in Peru

How to get there:

There are a range of options to choose from when going to Machu Picchu. You can do the inca trail which is a 4/5 day hike I believe and you can choose one based on intensity. I personally couldn’t imagine anything worse than hiking and camping for 4 days but everyone that does it loves it and says it’s worth it… Good for them. For the lazy traveller or those with limited time, I know of 2 other options. You can A. Pay approximately US$250 to get up at 3am, catch a train all the way into the town near Machu Picchu, go for the day, and come home on the train. I just couldn’t afford $250 for one day so I went with the second option: B. Pay US$115 to get a 7 hour bus to a place called Hydroelectric, have a free lunch, walk 3 hours along a train track with stunning scenery until you reach the town next to Machu Picchu. This includes a night stay in a hostel with dinner and breakfast the next day. Then you get up at about 4am the next day, and you can either catch the bus up or hike about an hour up to Machu Picchu. Now I am not a hiker but I’m really glad I did the morning hike, I felt I accomplished something haha. We paid extra to catch the bus back down and then to catch the train back to Hydroelectric because we were just that tired, you can choose to walk it back if you like. 

Things to do: 

The town near Machu Picchu is actually quite vibrant with a lot of restaurants and markets. We didn’t bother with the markets as it was more expensive than Cusco with the same stuff but it would be cool to look around if you wanted.


Leave a comment