San Juan Del Sur

The incredible SJDS. It made me wish I had given Nicaragua more of a look and has definitely made me want to go back and explore this awesome country. San Juan has the perfect mix between relaxation and super crazy party time. The weather was just absolutely spot on (April) and I loved every minute. I was lucky enough to be there during Semana Santa (Holy Week) so I could experience a traditional festival – I would highly recommend visiting SJDS during this time.

IMG_1150

Where to stay: Casa de Olas

Generally when you are looking at where to stay in SJDS you will hear about Naked Tiger. Now If you are looking for non-stop partying then Naked Tiger is for you, but if you want to be able to have an amazing wild time but also be given the chance to just relax by the pool, then Casa de Olas is for you. I loved staying here, the views are incredible (photo above) and the pool area is great. We had some pretty good staff there but they are all travellers so it changes each week effectively. The hostel is owned by an older Aussie couple and I was surprised to be one of the only Aussie’s there considering. There is a great mix of people and I actually felt that Naked Tiger had way more Aussie’s, so I enjoyed meeting a mix of people from all over the place. The dinner is ok (you have to pay) and as such, I would recommend going into the town instead. Whatever you do, make sure you stay over the weekend and don’t leave til Tuesday, I will explain why below.

IMG_1146IMG_1177

What to do

Sunday Funday: It is wild and crazy but honestly just so much fun! The party starts at Naked Tiger and moves on to a few other places. It is more expensive for people not staying at NT but still worth it, you also get a singlet and rides to each place. I had the best day and this was such a highlight for me. Even if you aren’t hugely into parties, you will enjoy this ass the places you go are really cool. It is all together just an amazing day. The party does get really wild and as such I would not recommend planning on leaving Casa on the Monday, you should take the time to relax by the pool and then just leave Tuesday. Monday night is super chill and is a great way to recover from the party.

IMG_9698

Visit the town: The main town is cute and good to explore. I don’t think its all that incredible so I was happy to stay up the hill and out of the town at Casa.

Playa Hermosa: as the name suggests, it is a beautiful beach. You can drink cocktails, eat food, lay in hammocks and swim in the ocean. I just loved my time here and it was a great way to get to know the people from my hostel. They also release turtles usually but unfortunately it didn’t happen on the day we were there 😦

Semana Santa: The holy week here in Latin America. Some people don’t like being here then because the prices are higher and you have to book more so in advance but if you are organised then it is fine. Plus this means that you experience something you wouldn’t usually see and SJDS main town is a wild fun place – but don’t go out at night because you will be mugged!

IMG_8818


Leave a comment